World’s Greatest Shave

This is not something I would normally do.

I tend to keep my private life separate from my professional life. But this is an issue that is very important to me.

I am asking all my friends and supporters who subscribe to, and read, this blog, around the world, to sponsor me to shave my head this year, to raise funds for the Leukaemia Foundation as part of their Leukaemia Foundation World’s Greatest Shave.

Last year, our family was confronted with the reality of blood cancer when my 41 year-old wife was diagnosed with acute myeloid leukaemia.

It was a dark and confronting time. Thankfully, she has been in remission now for nearly six months, but, everyday 31 Australians will get the awful news they have blood cancer. More work needs to be done to understand leukaemia and lymphoma, and more support needs to be provided to those who need it.

The World’s Greatest Shave is a yearly fundraiser, and I have made a commitment that as long as I have hair on my head, I will shave it off to raise funds for the Leukaemia & Lymphoma Research through the Leukaemia Foundation.

That said, at the moment the only donation is $100.

From me.

Which is a bit of a shame, really. My hope is to raise $3000 this year, which means I am 3% toward my goal. Not looking good…

So, here is my pledge. If I get to $1000, I will go and get a haircut. A nice one, but not a complete bald-inducing one.

If I get to $2000, I will go and get a very short haircut. For those of you who are technically minded, I’ll get a number two. All over.

If I get to $3000, I will shave it all off. Bald. Just like last year. And then wait for it to grow back.

Photos will be posted.

Regardless of what I end up doing, your donation will help the Leukaemia Foundation to fund its important work – providing practical and emotional support to people with blood cancer, as well as investing millions in research.

And you’ve got to be okay with that.

So, a small amount, or a large amount, will be much appreciated by the Leukaemia Foundation. And it is very easy. Just click on the link below, and the donation is a very easy process.

Thank you again to everyone who helped out last year. This is still something that is close to us, and touches us everyday, so any contribution to the cause would be appreciated.

The official date of the shave is between 13 – 16 March, 2014. So, you need to click on the link as soon as possible.

http://my.leukaemiafoundation.org.au/paulharrison

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

